Promises to Keep

Alexis W. ~ 68.100908

My sister, Patricia Jean Perkins gave birth to a son at White Shield of Portland in 1968 or 1969.  I did not know for a few years about her having this child and giving him up for adoption, but when the same man, James Amauba, got her pregnant the second time, she did tell me about the first pregnancy.   At that time she also told me that part of the program was that she was not supposed to see the child when it was born; but she did see the child and it was a beautiful boy.   She told me that a very nice couple supposedly adopted that child and one of them was a doctor and either had connections in Africa or was going to be in Africa for a while (the paternal father of the child, James Amauba, was an African).

When she got pregnant the second time by the same man, she was determined to keep this child.  This time I found out about the pregnancy and supported her in any way I could.  She finally told me about the first child when the second son, Aaron, was born.  After that, I would find her outside many times over the years looking up at the stars and telling me “he was up there.”  She and James had 5 children (including Aaron).  My sweet sister just died at the young age of 62.  James was deported back to Africa many years ago and Patty raised those 5 children all alone and they are all wonderful marvelous people.  All she wanted was to know that her first son was OK and that he knew she loved him deeply.

Can anyone help me reunite this family? I have tried all the on-line avenues and they are a hoax, they all want your money and offer you no information.  I sat with my sister as she died and I have to find this child.  He needs to know he has a chance to meet 4 sisters and a brother and that his mother loved him more than he will ever know.  How in the world do you chase a dream and the unbelievable commitment I have made to my sister?  Any help would be so appreciated.

Thank you so much ~ Alexis Warner

One thought on “Promises to Keep

  1. Dear Alexis, I’m sorry that I don’t have information on your search but wanted to let you know I was so saddened to see your mom’s obituary in the register guard. Patti and I were friends at Thurston and enjoyed visiting at our 40th reunion. I wanted to reach out to her/your family but didn’t know how until I read your post. I will pray that you find her firstborn.

Leave a Reply

